This product is not available for purchase: Status is Out of print

The Life Cycle of a Snail

This book explains what a life cycle is and how life cycles allow for the continuation of life. The text describes the different stages of a snail's life, including hatching from an egg, growth of its body and shell, and reproduction.

Format List Price Your Price Qty
$29.93 $20.95 OP
  • Life Cycles
  • Snails
  • Laying Eggs
  • Hatchlings
  • Growing
  • In the Food Chain
  • Making New Snails
  • The Life Cycle Goes On
  • Life Cycle Diagram
  • Web Sites and Books
  • Glossary
  • Index
Interest Level Kindergarten - Grade 3
Reading Level Grade 3
Dewey 593
ATOS Reading Level 4.2
Guided Reading Level P
Language English
Publisher The Child's World, Inc.
Format Reinforced book
ISBN 9781609731915
Copyright 2012
Number of Pages 32
Dimensions 8 x 9.5
Graphics Full-color photographs

A Review of "Life Cycles" in Library Media Connection

Using full color illustrations and diagrams, this series describes the life cycles of animals and plants, showing growth from birth to adulthood, and including a life cycle diagram showing the different stages of life. The text is easy to read and includes highlighted words with definitions found in the glossary. This series would be great for introducing a unit or for research with young readers. Bibliography. Glossary. Website. Table of Contents. Index.

A Review of "Life Cycles" in School Library Journal

There are intriguing aspects to the life cycles explored in these books. For instance, all clown fish are born male, but after forming small groups the biggest one becomes a female to reproduce; earthworms and most snail species are hermaphrodites, etc. In all four titles, a page of boxed text alternates with a full-page color photograph (mostly close-ups) of one or more of the subject animals. Each book presents a broad overview of the creatures (basic anatomy, major physical characteristics, habitats, etc.) and describes developmental stages, detailing distinctive characteristics, diet, etc. The volumes conclude with descriptions of the animals’ reproductive process and a photo diagram of their life cycles. The books boast an attractive, clean-lined format and are, for the most part, clearly written. Snake may misinform readers when it states, ‘But the largest snake, the anaconda, can grow as long as 38 feet.’ The anaconda is acknowledged as the ‘heaviest’ snake species, but the reticulated python is known as the world’s longest snake. Leigh Rockwood’s Snails Are Gross! and Worms Are Gross! (both Rosen, 2010) offer more information on anatomy; however, Owens’s titles are more scientific in tone. Clown Fish will help fill a gap for this age level as there are comparatively few titles on this animal.

A Review of "Life Cycles" in Booklist

In this title, part of the Life Cycles series, Owens accurately points out that every living thing has a life cycle. And the life cycle of a snail is divided as follows: egg, hatchling, and adult. With big, clear full-page photos (one per spread) as well as straightforward text, readers can follow along on the slimy journey from egg to snail. The design here is spare, and potentially unfamiliar words—radula, hibernate—are highlighted and defined in a glossary. One feature of the book is particularly child-friendly: each photo illustrates a line or two of text (‘Water snails live in either freshwater or saltwater’), which is superimposed on the image, and coordinates nicely with the main text. The final spread offers up a life- cycle diagram, particularly helpful for visual learners. While the headings in the book don’t divide as naturally as they might, this title offers up beautiful photos and a text simple enough for young gastropod lovers.

Author: L. L. Owens