Editorial Review

A noteworthy review of The United States Presidents from Children's Bookwatch on December 1, 2020

Cover: George Washington: Our 1st President

‘The United States Presidents’ is a new forty-four volume series from The Child’s World that individually showcases each American president from George Washinton to Donald J. Trump. This impressively informative series for young readers ages 8-12 chronicles the lives of our nation’s leaders, including some of the most famous figures in American history. Each individual 48 page biography tells the fascinating story of a single president, from childhood and early life to the presidency and beyond. Additional sections explain the branches of government, the Electoral College, the White House, and the various presidential perks. Exploring the lives and times of our presidents gives readers an inside look at the personalities, key developments, and important events that have shaped our nation’s history. Each volume features full color and historical photographs, detailed maps, informative sidebars, a phonetic glossary, as well as facts, presidential perks, sources for further research, and thematically relevant websites. Of special note is the inclusion information on the Electoral College, the White House, and the 3 branches of government. While each volume can be obtained individually ($39.95 List / $24.95 S/L), elementary school and community libraries are advised to acquire the entire set for the benefit of their students and young patrons ($1757.80 List / $1097.80).

—James A. Cox

Products Reviewed

Title   ATOS Format Qty
George Washington: Our 1st President
John Adams: Our 2nd President
Thomas Jefferson: Our 3rd President
James Madison: Our 4th President
James Monroe: Our 5th President
John Quincy Adams: Our 6th President
Andrew Jackson: Our 7th President
Martin Van Buren: Our 8th President
William Henry Harrison: Our 9th President
John Tyler: Our 10th President
James Polk: Our 11th President
Zachary Taylor: Our 12th President
Millard Fillmore: Our 13th President
Franklin Pierce: Our 14th President
James Buchanan: Our 15th President
Abraham Lincoln: Our 16th President
Andrew Johnson: Our 17th President
Ulysses S. Grant: Our 18th President
Rutherford B. Hayes: Our 19th President
James A. Garfield: Our 20th President
Chester A. Arthur: Our 21st President
Grover Cleveland: Our 22nd and 24th President
Benjamin Harrison: Our 23rd President
William McKinley: Our 25th President
Theodore Roosevelt: Our 26th President
William Howard Taft: Our 27th President
Woodrow Wilson: Our 28th President
Warren G. Harding: Our 29th President
Calvin Coolidge: Our 30th President
Herbert Hoover: Our 31st President
Franklin D. Roosevelt: Our 32nd President
Harry S. Truman: Our 33rd President
Dwight D. Eisenhower: Our 34th President
John F. Kennedy: Our 35th President
Lyndon Baines Johnson: Our 36th President
Richard M. Nixon: Our 37th President
Gerald R. Ford: Our 38th President
James Earl Carter: Our 39th President
Ronald Reagan: Our 40th President
George H. W. Bush: Our 41st President
William Clinton: Our 42nd President
George W. Bush: Our 43rd President
Barack Obama: Our 44th President
Donald Trump: Our 45th President 6.6

← Reviews